Thursday, June 9, 2011

In Hindsight...

Growing up in Vermont with my sort of hippie parents we were rarely allowed to eat sugar cereal.  We ate cereals like plain Cherrio's and Grape Nuts.  Grape Nuts is kind of an acquired taste, but I came to really enjoy it in the summer with fresh berries.  Last summer I had Grape Nuts with strawberries and blueberries for breakfast nearly every single day, and some days for dinner too!  Mmm.

This was also around the time when my stomach was hurting every day.  I haven't had any Grape Nuts since going gluten free because I assumed they were made of wheat.  Missing them in my summer breakfast routine, today I decided to check out the ingredients to see what exactly they are made of.  It turns out there are only four ingredients: Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Salt, and Dried Yeast.  Huh.  Considering gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley, half the ingredients in this cereal are toxic to my system.  This being said, it's no wonder I was sick to my stomach nearly everyday all last summer.  Good to know.

2 comments:

  1. Interesting! Came here through a google search. I haven't eaten Grape Nuts in years and did this morning. I've been to the toilet about 7 times so far today. I need to look in to this gluten thing.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I came across this post through Google and I myself was curious! I thought that my stomach ached because of the weight of the cereal...so I went from one-cup to 1/2-cup. I still have a stomach ache and it could possibly be a gluten thing. I stopped drinking IPA beers or beer in general because of the same thing. This is my first real online reply to a post. Thanks for posting!

    ReplyDelete